In the spring of 1774, the country's first public library opened its doors, after nearly fifteen years of meticulous preparation. The bishop systematically arranged for the collection of books, ensuring that the library's shelves housed volumes on law, medicine, philosophy, and natural sciences. Most of these acquisitions were made in Austria, Italy, and the Netherlands by his friends, with whom he maintained regular correspondence.
The collection, initially comprising around 15,000 volumes, continued to expand, albeit with some interruptions, after the founder's death. Bishop Klimo also supported the printer Engel János József, who moved to Pécs, as well as the operation of the paper mill in Tettye. To facilitate practical scientific investigations, he established an observatory equipped with surveying and astronomical instruments in the southwest tower of the episcopal palace.
György Klimo believed that the spiritual care of a community could only be properly undertaken by a well-educated individual, leading him to extend the training period at the priestly seminaries. As a bishop of peasant origin, he fought to make education accessible to everyone.
In the atrium of the Knowledge Center, we aim to showcase and reminisce about some of these 250 years through books and postcards for our visitors.
In the display case, the special volumes of the Klimo Library will be available for viewing, including the following:
Exhibition Curators: Anna Eby Varghese, Zsuzsanna Gergely, Johanna Kádár
Photo by Johanna Kádár
Location: Regional Library and Knowledge Center, Ground Floor, Atrium (next to the registration desk),
Pécs, Universitas Street 2/A
Engedélyezi, hogy összegyűjtsük és felhasználjuk az adatait, ezáltal személyre szabhassuk az Ön számára nyújtott szolgáltatásainkat?
Állítsa be az Ön számára elfogadható viselkedési módokat vagy látogassa meg e célból létrehozott bővebb információt tartalmazó oldalunkat, hogy tájékozódjon a lehetőségeiről!